My top 20 albums of 2012

It’s that time of the year…when I reflect on what I’ve been listening to over the year and decide what I’ve loved and what I’ve hated in music. Here is a list of the things that I loved:

1. Frank Ocean – Channel Orange

This was the album that I was most looking forward to this year. I think out of all of the Odd Future group, this is the only artist that will have a long career. I love every element of this album. It’s well written, well produced, upbeat and feel good.

 2. Deftones – Koi No Yokan

They did it again. This album isn’t the best or worst album the Deftones have ever done, it’s just ‘different’. A more grown up, textured and deep album from them that I think will get better and better the more you listen to it.

 3. El-P- Cancer 4 Cure

Simply the best hip-hop album of this year. Buy this album.

 4. Purity Ring – Shrines

REFRESHING ELECTRONIC MUSIC!! Produced by 2 people who sent each other music and vocals via the internet and emailing – absolutely amazing. Get this album in your life.

 5. Aesop Rock – Skelethon

Another great hip-hop album that I think is really deep but also really accessible.

 6. The Secret – Agnus Dei

The heaviest thing on this planet. I don’t know what it is about this band and their influences, but it is just the heaviest, darkest album out this year. Not quite as good as Solve Et Coagula, but still amazing!!

 7. Amenra – Mass V

I was worried about this album and it being released on Neurot, given that I always liked the bands ‘raw’ sound. What has actually happened is one of their best albums to date, so so heavy and so so deep.

 8. Converge – All we Love we Leave Behind

Not my favourite Converge album but it’s definitely up there. Face off.

 9. Godspeed You! Black Emperor – ‘Allelujah! Don’t Bend!

The fact that this album was released without anyone knowing is actually amazing. It’s totally mesmerising and totally beautiful.

 10. The XX – Co-exist

Can’t believe how good this album is. Another one on the essential of 2012 list.

 11. Grizzly Bear – Shields

I was looking forward to this album but it didn’t quite reach Veckatimest heights. Still a brilliant listen though.

 12. How to Dress Well – Total Loss

MODERN AND REAL R’N’B. Check this dude out, deserves to be massive. I absolutely LOVE this album.

 13. Mono – For my Parents

Post-rock at it’s finest. Not sure it was as good as some of their earlier releases but this had such a cool vibe.

 14. MMOTHS – MMOTHS

Yes. Nice to relax to.

 15. Old Man Gloom – NO

Again, not the best album they have ever done, but it’s still absolutely brilliant. I feel this works better as an entire album rather than a collection of songs.

 16. Lianne La Havas – Is your love big enough?

Should of won the mercury prize. Simple.

 17. Killer Mike – R.A.P Music

Another brilliant hip hop album. Would have loved to have gone to the El-P/Killer Mike UK tour. Oh well.

18. Squarepusher – Ufabulum

Blip blip blop blop. Yeah, it’s noisy but totally brilliant.

 19. Alt-J – An Awesome Wave

Yeah it’s great, everyone knows it is. Shouldn’t have won the mercury prize though.

 20. Holy Other – With U

 I chose this album purely on the song ‘Feel Something’. One of the best songs of this year, totally relaxing and one of the best videos I’ve ever seen. 

 

 

WHAT DO YOU ALL THINK!? Agree? Disagree? What are your top albums of 2012?

One thought on “My top 20 albums of 2012

  1. Loads of stuff in here I haven’t heard! I’ll check some of it out. Interesting that there’s only a bit of crossover in our lists, but maybe crossover you wouldn’t have predicted! Definitely need to give that new Deftones record a listen…

Leave a comment